Understanding Leadership

Digitalization is changing the world – the ways we live, work, how organizations and society work. Leadership means shaping this new development every day – by following a vision and taking small, concrete steps. Leadership thus is not tied to particular hierachical positions, rather it combines behaviors and mindsets: Which signs help you identify opportunities and risks at an early stage? What does it take to make good decisions? How can you guide yourself and others? Which are the most effective ways to elicit innovation? How can you find a common direction? What do you need to build a strong organization? And last but not least: Which way keeps you on your path to inner strength?

 

New Ideas for New Leadership

Our mission is to promote competent leadership today, and therefore one of our prime foci is to identify and better understand what good leadership looks like in the digital world. In collaboration with leading universities such as the University of St. Gallen and the Harvard Kennedy School, we have interviewed top leaders in business, government and civil society for our LEAD Research Series. The results confirm what we encounter in our own consulting practice time and again: In the digital age, leadership first and foremost means dealing with complexity. There is no such thing as the right leadership tool; instead, leaders constantly need to navigate through paradoxical areas of conflict.

Leadership Means Navigating in Areas of Conflict

In the complex digital world there is no perfect leadership tool.

Beyond Easy Answers

In dealing with complexity the right mindset is crucial for leaders.

8 Roles as Metaphors for Digital Leadership

LEAD's 8 Leadership roles describe complementary approaches for good leadership practice.
 

Partners

About LEAD Ideas

Changes in society and technology affect the way leadership works. Our think tank LEAD Ideas helps to understand these changes and to find well-grounded and up-to-date answers. With our LEAD Research series and by cooperating with experts from science, business and civil society, we pursue applicable solutions that combine scientific findings with practical innovations.

Contact us!

Ben Sahlmüller | Head of Research & Products
Telephone: +49 157 806 229 07
E-Mail: ben.sahlmueller@lead.berlin

Führung verstehen

Die Digitalisierung verändert unsere Welt – wie wir leben und arbeiten, welche Organisationen erfolgreich sind und wie unsere Gesellschaft funktioniert. Führung bedeutet, diesen Wandel jeden Tag aufs neue zu gestalten, mit Weitblick und doch in kleinen, konkreten Schritten. Dadurch ist Führung keine Position, sondern verbindet Handlung und Haltung: Wie erkennt man frühzeitig Chancen und Risiken? Wie trifft man gute Entscheidungen? Wie führt man sich selbst und andere? Wie weckt man Innovation? Wie findet man eine gemeinsame Richtung? Wie baut man eine starke Organisation auf? Und wo findet man selbst Kraft?

 

Neue Ideen für neue Führung

Gemeinsam mit führenden Universitäten wie der Universität St. Gallen und der Harvard Kennedy School haben wir für unsere LEAD Research Series Topführungskräfte aus Wirtschaft, Staat und Zivilgesellschaft interviewt, um zu  verstehen, wie gute Führung in der digitalen Welt aussieht. Dabei bestätigt sich, was wir auch selbst in unserer eigenen Beratungspraxis immer wieder erfahren: In der digitalen Welt bedeutet Führung vor allem, mit Komplexität umzugehen. Das eine richtige Führungsinstrument gibt es nicht, stattdessen müssen Führungskräfte fortlaufend in paradoxen Spannungsräumen navigieren.

Führung heißt Navigieren in Spannungsräumen

In der komplexen digitalen Welt gibt es kein perfektes Führungsinstrument

Die Haltung entscheidet

Führungskräfte brauchen die richtige Haltung, um mit Komplexität umzugehen

8 Rollen als Metaphern für digitale Führung

LEADs 8 Führungsrollen beschreiben sich ergänzende Ansätze für gute Führung

Partner

About LEAD Ideas

Gesellschaftlicher und technologischer Wandel verändert die Art, wie Führung funktioniert. Unser Think Tank LEAD Ideas hilft, diese Veränderungen nachzuvollziehen und fundierte, zeitgemäße Antworten auf sie zu finden. Durch eigene Forschung und im Dialog mit Experten aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft suchen wir anwendbare Lösungen, die wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse mit praktischen Innovationen verbinden.

Informiert bleiben

Für Einblicke in neue Führung, aktuelle Informationen und Veranstaltungen

 Newsletter abonnieren

Sprechen Sie uns an!

Ben Sahlmüller | Projektmanager Research
Telephone: +49 30 9210 285-14
E-Mail: ben.sahlmüller@lead.ngo